A bit about me

About a name:

I hope that this blog will become a useful tool for at least someone out there. My name is Jelena. The pronunciation of my name is the tricky part for the majority of English speaking part of the world (and probably for some others). Since the letter ‘J’ is in my native language pronounced as ‘Y’, the proper way to say my name is ‘YELLENA’. Well, now that we mastered the pronunciation, we will move to its origins. It is a Slavic version of a Greek name ‘Helena’ or English version ‘Helen’ which means – light. (There are many variations of this name in different cultures, all of which may be found here: http://www.behindthename.com/name/helen and probably elsewhere on the internet).

 

About a person(ality):

How do you start your day? Are you smiling or being very serious. Someone once told me that I was almost unbearable as a child. I would wake up at 05:00 in the morning and sing, sing and sing until everyone in the household wakes up. Does this mean that I am: a) a happy person; b) a loud person; c) a nuisance; d) all of the above? I guess, the correct answer would be under ‘d’. My late father used to say that I was sleeping for the first nine (9) months of my life, and then I started talking. And, I never stopped after that.

Another person asked me to undergo some tests (???), and I got a “shocking” score of 97% extrovert. Well, maybe it was shocking for someone, but after doing some informal learning (see the connection with my current interest and pursuing the PIDP – Provincial Instructor Diploma Program at Vancouver Community College – www.vcc.ca), I was very pleased with the results. I also, recently, came across an interesting blog, which can be found here: http://theadventurouswriter.com/blog/extrovert-at-work-personality-traits-of-extroverted-people/. Needless to say, sometimes, I am a little bit ‘too much’ energetic for my surroundings.

 

And finally, what is it that I do:

Well, I am trying to sweeten the lives of many people. One would ask oneself: “How do I do that?”

The answer is very simple; I work in a sugar refinery. 🙂

Admit that you did not expect this.

Not only that I work in a sugar refinery, but I also have to ensure that all that sweetness that is leaving our production area passes all required quality and food safety requirements. And, how do we achieve that? We have a food safety and quality system compliant with the international standard called FSSC 22000 (if interested please read more here: http://www.fssc22000.com/documents/about-us.xml?lang=en).

 

 

This entry was posted in About. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

